Happy Ballon d’Or day!

It’s that time of the year when the most coveted individual award in football is handed out.

Here is everything you need to know before events unfold in France.

When and where is it?

The ceremony is being held in Paris and will get underway at 20:30 CET, although the first ranking reveals are expected to take place at 17:00 CET.

The entire thing will be streamed live on the website of the French newspaper L’Equipe, and you can follow it on our live blog on OneFootball.

Who are the favourites?

Karim Benzema best goals with Real Madrid

0 seconds of 0 secondsVolume 90%

Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema is widely expected to win the prize for the first time but will still face competition from the likes of Robert Lewandowski, Kylian Mbappé and Mohamed Salah.

Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas is the favourite to retain the Ballon d’Or Féminin, although she is up against Arsenal’s Beth Mead.

Lionel Messi, who has won the award a record seven times, is absent from the nominees list for the first time in 17 years.

How is the winner decided?

A jury of journalists from all footballing nations are asked to give their top five players.

The criteria given to the journalists are:

  • Individual and collective performances during the year
  • Player class in terms of fair play and talent
  • An overall judgement of the player’s career

Are any other awards up for grabs?

The Kopa Trophy for the best player under the age of 21 will also be dished out with Barcelona’s Gavi and Borussia Dortmund midfielder Jude Bellingham the top contenders for the prize which was won last year by Pedri.

Premier League goalkeepers Alisson Becker, Edouard Mendy, Hugo Lloris and Ederson are up for the Lev Yashin trophy, awarded to the best goalkeeper.

The shortlist in full

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • João Cancelo (Manchester City)
  • Casemiro (Manchester United)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Luis Díaz (Porto, Liverpool)
  • Fabinho (Liverpool)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
  • Sébastien Haller (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)
  • Rafael Leão (Milan)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
  • Mike Maignan (Milan)
  • Sadio Mané (Bayern Munich)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Luka Modrić (Real Madrid)
  • Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig)
  • Darwin Núñez (Liverpool)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
  • Antonio Rüdiger (Real Madrid)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  • Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
  • Vinícius Júnior (Real Madrid)
  • Dusan Vlahović (Juventus)


Share This